Click to Submit Promo Code
Performances & Tickets

Calendar View    Take a class    Add parking

Subscribers & Donors: Login first to access your exclusive benefits.



Monsoon Wedding

Book by Sabrina Dhawan
Music by Vishal Bhardwaj
Lyrics by Susan Birkenhead
Directed by Mira Nair
Roda Theatre · May 5 – July 2, 2017
World premiere

Running time: approximately 2 hours, plus one 15-minute intermission. This is a new musical and run time may vary.

Award-winning film director Mira Nair brings her exuberant and sumptuous Monsoon Wedding to Berkeley Rep’s stage in this highly anticipated world premiere musical about an arranged marriage between a modern upper-middle-class Indian family’s only daughter and an Indian-American guy she’s never met.

Monsoon Wedding includes haze, fog, and strobe effects. Berkeley Rep offers an advisory about any stage effect of potential concern to patrons’ health. We don’t offer advisories about subject matter, as sensitivities vary from person to person. If you have any concerns about content, please contact the box office.

Want to see the show today?
Sometimes seats are returned to us on short notice, so we may have a few great seats available! Give us a call at 510 647-2949 (Tuesday-Sunday, noon-7pm).

Wed 5/24/17 7:00PM Monsoon Wedding
Thu 5/25/17 8:00PM Monsoon Wedding
Fri 5/26/17 8:00PM Monsoon Wedding
Sat 5/27/17 2:00PM Monsoon Wedding
Sat 5/27/17 8:00PM Monsoon Wedding
Sun 5/28/17 2:00PM Monsoon Wedding
Sun 5/28/17 7:00PM Monsoon Wedding
Tue 5/30/17 8:00PM Monsoon Wedding
Wed 5/31/17 7:00PM Monsoon Wedding
Thu 6/1/17 2:00PM Monsoon Wedding
Thu 6/1/17 8:00PM Monsoon Wedding · Discussion
Fri 6/2/17 8:00PM Monsoon Wedding
Sat 6/3/17 8:00PM Monsoon Wedding
Sun 6/4/17 2:00PM Monsoon Wedding
Sun 6/4/17 7:00PM Monsoon Wedding
Tue 6/6/17 8:00PM Monsoon Wedding · Discussion
Wed 6/7/17 7:00PM Monsoon Wedding
Thu 6/8/17 8:00PM Monsoon Wedding
Fri 6/9/17 8:00PM Monsoon Wedding
Sat 6/10/17 2:00PM Monsoon Wedding
Sat 6/10/17 8:00PM Monsoon Wedding
Sun 6/11/17 2:00PM Monsoon Wedding
Sun 6/11/17 7:00PM Monsoon Wedding
Tue 6/13/17 8:00PM Monsoon Wedding
Wed 6/14/17 7:00PM Monsoon Wedding
Thu 6/15/17 8:00PM Monsoon Wedding
Fri 6/16/17 8:00PM Monsoon Wedding · Discussion
Sat 6/17/17 2:00PM Monsoon Wedding
Sat 6/17/17 8:00PM Monsoon Wedding
Sun 6/18/17 2:00PM Monsoon Wedding
Sun 6/18/17 7:00PM Monsoon Wedding
Wed 6/21/17 7:00PM Monsoon Wedding
Thu 6/22/17 2:00PM Monsoon Wedding
Thu 6/22/17 8:00PM Monsoon Wedding
Fri 6/23/17 8:00PM Monsoon Wedding
Sat 6/24/17 2:00PM Monsoon Wedding
Sat 6/24/17 8:00PM Monsoon Wedding
Sun 6/25/17 2:00PM Monsoon Wedding · Captioned
Sun 6/25/17 7:00PM Monsoon Wedding
Tue 6/27/17 8:00PM Monsoon Wedding
Wed 6/28/17 7:00PM Monsoon Wedding
Thu 6/29/17 8:00PM Monsoon Wedding
Fri 6/30/17 8:00PM Monsoon Wedding
Sat 7/1/17 2:00PM Monsoon Wedding
Sat 7/1/17 8:00PM Monsoon Wedding
Sun 7/2/17 2:00PM Monsoon Wedding
Sun 7/2/17 7:00PM Monsoon Wedding


An Octoroon

By Branden Jacobs-Jenkins
Directed by Eric Ting
Peet's Theatre · June 23 – July 23, 2017
West Coast premiere

Playwright and 2016 MacArthur Fellow Branden Jacobs-Jenkins won the Obie Award for his radical, incendiary, and subversively funny riff on Dion Boucicault’s once-popular 1859 mustache-twirling melodrama. A spectacular collision of the antebellum South and 21st-century cultural politics, An Octoroon is “This decade’s most eloquent theatrical statement on race in America today,” says the New York Times.

Join us after all performances of An Octoroon (excluding June 30) for a post-show discussion with Berkeley Rep staff, docents, and artists.

Fri 6/23/17 8:00PM An Octoroon · Preview
Sat 6/24/17 8:00PM An Octoroon · Preview
Sun 6/25/17 7:00PM An Octoroon · Preview
Tue 6/27/17 8:00PM An Octoroon · Preview
Wed 6/28/17 7:00PM An Octoroon · Preview
Thu 6/29/17 8:00PM An Octoroon · Preview
Fri 6/30/17 8:00PM An Octoroon · Opening Night
Sat 7/1/17 2:00PM An Octoroon
Sat 7/1/17 8:00PM An Octoroon
Sun 7/2/17 2:00PM An Octoroon
Sun 7/2/17 7:00PM An Octoroon
Wed 7/5/17 7:00PM An Octoroon
Thu 7/6/17 2:00PM An Octoroon
Thu 7/6/17 8:00PM An Octoroon
Fri 7/7/17 8:00PM An Octoroon · Discussion
Sat 7/8/17 2:00PM An Octoroon
Sat 7/8/17 8:00PM An Octoroon
Sun 7/9/17 2:00PM An Octoroon
Sun 7/9/17 7:00PM An Octoroon
Tue 7/11/17 8:00PM An Octoroon · Discussion
Wed 7/12/17 7:00PM An Octoroon
Thu 7/13/17 8:00PM An Octoroon
Fri 7/14/17 8:00PM An Octoroon
Sat 7/15/17 2:00PM An Octoroon
Sat 7/15/17 8:00PM An Octoroon
Sun 7/16/17 2:00PM An Octoroon
Sun 7/16/17 7:00PM An Octoroon
Tue 7/18/17 8:00PM An Octoroon
Wed 7/19/17 7:00PM An Octoroon
Thu 7/20/17 8:00PM An Octoroon · Discussion
Fri 7/21/17 8:00PM An Octoroon
Sat 7/22/17 2:00PM An Octoroon
Sat 7/22/17 8:00PM An Octoroon
Sun 7/23/17 2:00PM An Octoroon · Captioned
Sun 7/23/17 7:00PM An Octoroon


Mike Birbiglia: The New One

Written and performed by Mike Birbiglia
Special presentation · Peet's Theatre
August 2–13, 2017

Neil Genzlinger of the New York Times called Mike Birbiglia’s recent show Thank God for Jokes “the best night I’ve spent in a theatre in a very long time.” In The New One the award-winning comedian approaches an entirely new subject in a new way with the same heart and humor we’ve come to expect. Do not miss the new one. It may be the best one.

Wed 8/2/17 8:00PM Mike Birbiglia: The New One
Thu 8/3/17 8:00PM Mike Birbiglia: The New One
Fri 8/4/17 8:00PM Mike Birbiglia: The New One
Sat 8/5/17 7:00PM Mike Birbiglia: The New One
Sat 8/5/17 9:30PM Mike Birbiglia: The New One
Sun 8/6/17 4:00PM Mike Birbiglia: The New One
Sun 8/6/17 7:00PM Mike Birbiglia: The New One
Tue 8/8/17 8:00PM Mike Birbiglia: The New One
Wed 8/9/17 8:00PM Mike Birbiglia: The New One
Thu 8/10/17 8:00PM Mike Birbiglia: The New One
Fri 8/11/17 8:00PM Mike Birbiglia: The New One
Sat 8/12/17 7:00PM Mike Birbiglia: The New One
Sat 8/12/17 9:30PM Mike Birbiglia: The New One
Sun 8/13/17 4:00PM Mike Birbiglia: The New One
Sun 8/13/17 7:00PM Mike Birbiglia: The New One